

## Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal

President of the Getulio Vargas Foundation



Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal is the President of the Getulio Vargas Foundation (FGV) since August 2010.

He is a Civil Engineer graduated from the School of Engineering of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ -1980), MSc in Mathematical Economics from the Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics CNPq (1982), PhD in Economics from Princeton University, USA.

Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal was also professor of Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Public Finance and Finance in the School of Graduate Studies in Economics/EPGE, Getulio Vargas Foundation, General Director of EPGE from 1994 to 1997, and vice president of FGV from 1997 to 2000. Simonsen Leal is also Professor Emeritus of the School of Command of the Army Staff (ECEME).

Under his management the FGV created eight new undergraduates of continuing education which makes the foundation present in all Brazilian states. Furthermore, FGV was the only institution today awarded by the Brazilian Court of Audit with its Grand Collar of Merit. He was awarded, in 2002, with the title of "Grão Cruz da Ordem Nacional do Mérito Científico" (Grão Cruz of the National Order of Scientific Merit), awarded by the President of the Republic, for his contributions to Science and Technology. Professor Simonsen Leal was granted with the Palmes Académiques by the Republic of France through its Prime Minister's Decree in October 2008 and has been decorated with the Order of Naval Merit by the Brazilian Naval Service (Class of Support Commander), the Medal of the Peacemaker by the Brazilian Army and the Tamandare Merit Medal by Brazil Navy.

He is Member of the National Academy of Engineering. Awarded with the title of Eminent Engineer by the Polytechnic School in 2014. . IBGE Medal of Statistical Merit "Mário Augusto Teixeira de Freitas" (2016). Medal of the Brazilian Army (2017). Awarded with the title of "Honorary Hydrographer" granted by the Brazilian Navy (2017). Awarded with the Order of Military Merit granted by the Brazilian Army (2018). Decorated with the Order of Naval Merit by the Brazilian Naval Service (2019).